I wanna see BATS!

Yesterday was quite a thrilling day for us.  We got to go on a field trip to the King Center for Performing Arts – the THEATER!  RoseBud, JuneBug, NinjaBoy and I were very excited to be able to see a live performance of the Peking Acrobats.  I told RoseBud it was like going to the circus (minus the cotton candy, soda, peanuts and popcorn!).

From the time she woke up to the time the curtain went up, she peppered me with questions.  This was just a small portion of the one sided conversation in the car:

“I go see my friends now?”

“Where we going?”

“We go this way?”

“I go see my friends now?”

“I go school Tuesday?”

“I not go school. I go circus!”

“I go see my friends now?”

“I see Lauren and Mrs. Yoooo-ick?”

“I go see my friends now?”

“Where my friends?”

“I see bats now?”

…wait, hold up… BATS?  Where are the bats?  What bats do you see?… OH – ACRO-bats!

“Yes, RoseBud, we will go see the acrobats now”

It was an exhausting 20 minute drive.

To all you mommies of autistic children I say:  “Persevere…even if you have to use ear plugs occasionally!”

God bless your day – and may he give you many days with ‘bats’ of your own to make you smile.

One thought on “I wanna see BATS!

  1. Pingback: “Baby Dillo” « GirlyAutism

Leave a Reply

