Setbacks, trials, and the fire alarm incident…

I am having such struggles with Rosalie this summer (2010).  She is really perseverating a lot.  That means she is asking the exact same question over and over and over and over and over.

Grandma came home from her extended vacation and commented that Rosalie is unable to focus for more than 3 or 4 minutes.  Where she used to be able to play a game of bingo or chinese checkers or even play on the computer, she is now 1/2 way through a game and just says she’s done.  She plays on the wii for one game then switches to another game, sometimes just long enough to get through the credits.

The neurologist said she had normal EEG, MRI and blood results.  He put her on Intunive, and she is up to 3 mg. right now.  I am not really seeing any difference.  It’s been almost 4 weeks gradually getting her up to this dose, but I really hope it starts working soon (we just upped the dose to the 3mgs 4 days ago.)

Good news is that she hasn’t had very many of those drop seizures.  The last one was a week ago when we were at McDonalds.  I took her into the bathroom because she couldn’t walk real well, and left the boys just outside the bathroom door and kept 1/2 an eye on them through the crack in the bathroom door and kept turning around to make sure Rosalie was ok.  Then I heard the ALARM going off.  Peter.  He’ll be 3 in 2 months – he tried to go out the emergency exit door that was about 4 feet away from the bathroom.  Thank the Lord the sprinklers didn’t go off, and Rosalie isn’t overly agitated by noises.

Anyway, she also has been having bm accidents and pee accidents.  I think it’s her ad/hd – she can’t do anything for more than a few minutes, and she fears that if she sits on the potty for a long time she won’t have time to play.  Kind of like a 3 or 4 year old.  I actually have started telling her to go sit on the potty and reassuring her that she will be able to complete her playtime when she is done.  That does help, but only when I recognize she is ‘holding’ it.  Other times I just see her show up in new clothing.  Or I find 3 pairs of poopy undies laying on the bathroom or bedroom floor.  I can’t even count the number of times her sister has screamed “ROSALIE POOPED ON MY BED!!!”  [sorry for the graphic nature of that sentence – it’s so ‘real life’ right now.  She doesn’t actually poop on their bed, but she goes from a pair of messy undies to a pair of clean ones and sits on their bed to change…]

As far as her hurting siblings, I would have to say that it is mostly a retaliation thing.  When someone does something she doesn’t like, such as when Peter tries to play with her and she hits him with a toy and says “Go away Peter, I no like boys!”.  That is the #1 scenario.  She hits Evelyn with the toy that she want’s to play with.  She throws a toy at Daniel because he won’t give her what she wants.  This is classic toddler/2 year old behavior.  She has not grown out of it.  Now that she is home all day there are many more opportunities for her to practice this awful skill.

But in scenario #2, she gets mad at me for not allowing her to  (fill in the blank) so she looks around for someone to hit.  On those occasions, it is a light tap or kick – not enough to hurt someone, just hard enough to annoy the crap out of them and get a response.  She actually has been doing that MUCH better with that since we have gotten Julianna’s rages totally under control (Thank God for anti-depressants!!!!!!!!!).  She’s not seeing that type of behavior, so she is not using it very much.  She is really doing well with the visual timer and time out.  Every time she screams, yells “STOP TALKING” to someone while in time out, or gets out of the chair I add a minute.  She ended up in time out for 22 minutes today – and she spent the last 10 minutes absolutely angelic.

So, as far as hurting her dog, I really have doubts that she would hurt him.  But you never know.  Especially since the service dog waiting list is 2 – 5 years.  Who knows what type of wonderful things can happen in that period of time!  She is almost 8 now, so she could be 10, 12, or even 14 years old before she gets a dog.

My prayer right now is Dear Lord, help me be ever watchful and catch Rosalie in the act of her angry hurtful ways.  Help me perservere when she is shrieking at me and fighting the time out.  Help her learn, really understand, that attacking people is wrong.  Help her learn self control.  Help my head become immune to the horrible shrieking that she does – the volume, pitch and force at which she screams has been giving me headaches.  I pray for the safety of the other children as I spend 20 – 30 minutes at a time dealing whith her 7 minute time out.  I pray that you would help me maintain my voice control and not become angry.  I pray that you would remind me when I’m involved in disciplining her that remaining emotionless is the best way to handle her outbursts.  Thank you for being here to go through this struggle with me.  I pray that you would speak to her heart.  Thank you that she can sing some good solid Christian songs, even though I don’t know if she understands about your love.  I pray that you would use her to be a light to this world.  In Jesus’ name, Amen!

2 thoughts on “Setbacks, trials, and the fire alarm incident…

  1. I have seen you in action. Far more times than not, you are able to approach Rosalie (or any of the kids) in a far more calm and reasonable way than I ever did or even do. Don’t discount what wonders the Lord has already worked in your life.

  2. Yes, you are right. But with 7 children, it is hard to nip one child’s frequent bad behavior in the bud without neglecting the others. But in the long run, this small amount of sacrifice will pay off for the benefit of all in the house! :o)

Leave a Reply

